“a candle for others”

… so were four of the words used in the statement by Jerry Sandusky yesterday morning, as he proclaimed his innocence.

“I’m responding to the worst loss of my life,” Sandusky said in the interview, which was confirmed as authentic via the Twitter account of one of Sandusky’s attorneys, Karl Rominger.

“First, I looked at myself,” Sandusky continued. “Over and over, I asked, why? Why didn’t we have a fair opportunity to prepare for trial? Why have so many people suffered as a result of false allegations? What’s the purpose? Maybe it will help others; some vulnerable children who could be abused, might not be because of all the publicity.

“That would be nice, but I’m not sure about it. I would cherish the opportunity to become a candle for others, as they have been a light for me. They could take away my life, they could make me out as a monster, they could treat me as a monster, but they can’t take away my heart. In my heart, I know I did not do these alleged disgusting acts.”

Sandusky’s sentencing was today, and in that court room he was given 15 minutes to continue to drivel on and blame the victims.  He begs us to “evaluate the accusers,” asks us to question their honesty, suggesting that the victims, in coming to “The Second Mile,” were dishonest in the first place as they came with “issues.”  How dare he.

Yes, these children came with “issues.”   Everyone of them was vulnerable, having been abandoned, abused, or neglected, all victimized in some way, and he knew it.  He preyed on the fragility of these children, every one of them longing for an adult to believe in, to trust, to protect them.

Jerry Sandusky was sentenced to between 30-60 years in prison.   As he is nearing 70, he will die there.  His victims, however, could live much longer than he will, and every single day will suffer the consequences of his betrayal of them.   I wonder how many of them will ever be given a chance to have 15 minutes in a court room, having the world listen to their stories?

One thought on ““a candle for others”

  1. Even Satan is referred to as an “angel of light”. It is comforting to know that Sandusky is getting punished both on earth and will face judgment after death. There, Sandusky will NOT have an opportunity to spin his lies!

    The one I feel most for is the assistant coach for Penn State that reported all this; he has been fired by Penn State and can’t get a job at any other colleges. He too, is a victim in all this–for doing the right thing.

Leave a Reply

