a wee lecture for the ones who will never want to hear it

“We are to walk together in a spirit of humility, no matter what our learning or position and realize we will never come to a perfect understanding until we see Him face to face and we don’t have that ‘through a glass darkly problem’ any longer.”

This was a quote from my dear friend Ida Mae to another friend’s blog in response to all the self righteous ones who argue that their way is the only way, that there are no exceptions  to their interpretation of  what THEY believe Scripture insists upon when it comes to their understanding of discipline and raising children, what constitutes healthy marriage, divorce and remarriage, human sexuality, forgiveness …. the list goes on.

I am not a weeper, in fact it takes a lot to make me cry, but this quote early this morning, made me sob.  Just a wee sob, but a sob.  I’ve attended two wonderful workshops this week, tragic in content but terrific in learning opportunities, the first on human trafficking and the second on how sexual abuse survivors are re-traumatized in in-patient facilities.   And then I gave one yesterday on the correlation of the experience of sexual abuse as children affects being in relationship with domestic abuse offenders as adults.

All of this to say is that there is SO MUCH PAIN out there, and if the ones who are arguing that their “truth” is the only way to believe could just take HALF of that energy and turn around and see what GOOD could be done by reaching out and being the hands and feet of Jesus TOGETHER, I believe we would see miracles happen.

Lecture over.  All is well and, for those of you who may be concerned that I am on compassion overload, I’m actually in a really good place.  There are absolute “gems” out there who share my heart – our hearts – and I’m meeting more of them every day, many of you electronically.   We might be, as were the original ones, a motley little band of disciples, but we have an incredibly wonderful Teacher who will continually hold our hands and give us what we need to make this journey together.

9 thoughts on “a wee lecture for the ones who will never want to hear it

  1. Morven – “All of this to say is that there is SO MUCH PAIN out there, and if the ones who are arguing that their “truth” is the only way to believe could just take HALF of that energy and turn around and see what GOOD could be done by reaching out and being the hands and feet of Jesus TOGETHER, I believe we would see miracles happen.”

    Do we realize what power we have in one single local church? For example, in the case of an abused woman, think about what could and would happen if her entire church stood by her and stood against her abuser, exposing his sin to all and holding him to accounts. We could get her out of there, give her and her children food and sustenance. We could protect her — guard her if necessary. We could accompany her to court. We could help her with childcare, especially if she had to go to work away from home. We could direct her abuser to abuser therapy groups if he would go. Our church wouldn’t be split by the evil guy. Our children would see justice done and the oppressed protected. In fact, there is probably no better instrument to help victims than the local church.

    But for the most part, as we all know, this isn’t happening. Indeed, it is the victim’s church that turns out to be one of her main sources of condemnation.

  2. Something strange happened to my heart this week. I posted a poem which always brings in some new readers from varied backgrounds. I was notified of a new follower and went to check out her blog which led to another and another. It took me to a place I’ve never stepped in all my years as pastor’s daughter, deacon’s wife and comfortable little worker bee.

    I saw a whole ocean of hurting people who will never darken the door of church in our present hypocritical state. People who long for living water, who need that Bread of Life without all the stumbling blocks we’ve erected.

    In the past, I’ve felt a little sad to be outside the camp but now I’m thinking, this is the place God’s been bringing me to all along– the place of still waters. He’s allowed me to be stripped naked by my enemy and that is a fact. He doesn’t interfere with free will. But in all things, His purpose is redemption and life.

    We are to reach out a hand with the pure word of truth. Nothing added, nothing taken away. Just the good news. And then we trust the Holy Spirit to nurture and care for His own.

    We’re suppose to be making the path straight so crippled feet don’t stumble.

    “Lecture Cat does not judge you over these spectacles.”

    • Drat you, Ida Mae, I always need kleenex when you blow me cyber kisses and hugs. Oh girl, I hear you. We are never going to argue/convince/deter those whose minds are made up. I think I have come to the point where I can genuinely say, “I love you, brother, I know you mean well but I don’t agree with a word you say.” And then leave Jesus to do the rest.

  3. AMEN to both your original blog morven, and to jeff’s comment … may our LORD JESUS grow us as individuals and as churches the more and more show the love of JESUS to this hurting world of individuals so in need of HIS healing and forgiveness … both the abused and the abuser … coming through us as wounded healers … who have tasted the love of JESUS ourselves.

  4. Pingback: Recommended and Working on a Little Something « Thoroughly Christian Divorce

Leave a Reply

